skip navigation

Amateur notes: 2015-16 WSL Majors, First Division feature 27 teams

08/12/2015, 10:00pm CDT
Wisconsin Soccer Leagues logo

The team lineups are set for the Wisconsin Soccer Leagues 2015-16 season.

Eight teams will contest the Major Division, all of which played in the league last season. The Madison Fire, who finished 8-7-4 and fifth in the 10-team division in their first Majors season, and SC Waukesha Blue (4-14-1) are not returning.

The season is tentatively scheduled to start Sept. 10, with the final matches of the fall set for Nov. 8.

The First Division has grown by three teams from last season and will feature a whopping 19 sides. Midwest Orthopedic and Riverwest Hops FC are new teams, while SB United and the Milwaukee Serbians are returning to WSL play after one-year absences. SC Waukesha will field just one team in the leagues this season.

The latest draft schedule has the opening First Division game Sept. 11, with the fall portion of the season set to conclude Nov. 15. The league has put together a full season schedule, with the spring matches from April 10 to June 26.

Major Division:
Bavarian SC (defending champion), Croatian Eagles, Milwaukee Brewers, Milwaukee Kickers, Milwaukee Sport Club, North Shore United, Polonia, United Serbians.
First Division: Atotonilco, Azteca United (defending champion), Bavarian SC Reserves, Croatian Eagles Reserves, Gunners FC, Lincoln FC, Midwest Orthopedic, Milwaukee Brewers Reserves, Milwaukee Kickers Reserves, Milwaukee Serbians, Milwaukee Sport Club Reserves, North Shore United Reserves, Polonia Reserves, Riverwest Hops FC, SB United, SC Waukesha, Simbas FC, United Serbians Reserves, Verdi SC.

  • Curt Zastrow (Reedsburg) scored the lone goal and Milwaukee School of Engineering's Garrett Farin (Madison East) saved a penalty kick in posting the clean sheet as Madison United beat Chicago's Das Magic 1-0 in the Men's Open final Sunday at the 28th annual Wings Tournament in Baraboo. It was the third straight year United won the Open title at the event run by Wings SC, a Ukrainian club based in Chicago.
  • The Madison Soccer Association kicks off its 2015-16 season this weekend, with matches Friday night and Sunday at Goodman Pitch at Verona's Reddan Soccer Park. The reigning champion Madison Fire, who have won three of the past four Division 1 titles, have two of the six teams entered in the top division: Red and Black. Defending champion Vilas Rangers head up the seven-team Division 2 field. MSA website
  • Four men's teams will contest the International Gay and Lesbian Football Association North America Championship II starting Thursday at Reddan Soccer Park. The IGLFA was formed in 1992 and its mission is to "promote equality through football." The Twin Cities Jacks, Detroit Drive, Federal Triangles SC from the Washington, D.C., area and a team from the Chicago Metropolitan Sports Association will play a double round-robin schedule Thursday and Friday afternoons and Saturday morning, with the consolation match at 3:30 p.m. Saturday and the final at 4:45 p.m. Several players from the Madison area have been added to the rosters for the participating teams. Schedule

Tag(s): Home  Amateur  News  WSL  Major Division  Azteca United FC  Bavarian SC  Croatian Eagles  Milwaukee Brewers  Milwaukee Kickers  Milwaukee Serbians  Milwaukee Sport Club  Polonia SC  United Serbians  First Division  Bavarian SC Reserves  Croatian Eagles Reserves  Lincoln FC  Milwaukee Brewers Reserves  Milwaukee Kickers Reserves  Milwaukee Sport Club Reserves  North Shore United  Polonia Reserves  SB United  SC Waukesha  SC Waukesha White  Simbas SC  Verdi SC  United Serbians Reserves  Madison Fire  Atotonilco  Gunners FC  North Shore United Reserves