skip navigation

Prep notes: Marquette's Philippe earns Gatorade state accolade

02/17/2016, 11:30pm CST
Gatorade Players of the Year logo

Alec Philippe added his name to a prestigious list of Milwaukee Marquette boys soccer alums last week, as the senior forward was named the Gatorade Wisconsin Player of the Year for the 2015-16 school year.

Philippe is now eligible for the national Gatorade Player of the Year Award, which will be announced in May. Hilltoppers players have earned the state award 10 times in its 31-year history, the most of any program.

The 6-foot-1 Philippe, who signed a national letter intent to play at NCAA Division I Wright State earlier this month, had 27 goals and 12 assists last fall in helping lead Marquette (20-2-0) to its record 11th WIAA Division 1 state championship. He finished his two-year varsity career with 54 goals, 21 assists and two state titles.

"Philippe is fast, explosive and technically sound,” Menomonee Falls coach Scott Stein said in a news release announcing the award. "You have to account for him every second on the pitch. He's also a very unselfish player who makes his teammates better."

Philippe previously was named a high school All-American by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America, co-State Player of the Year by the Wisconsin Soccer Coaches Association and the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel area Player of the Year.

Alec Philippe with Milwaukee Marquette coach Steve Lawrence

Alec Philippe with Milwaukee Marquette coach Steve Lawrence


Year Winner Pos School
1985-86 Robert Probst D Milwaukee Marquette
1986-87 Kris Kelderman M Neenah
1987-88 Michael Bell M Madison West
1988-89 Scott Kreitmeir M Brookfield Central
1989-90 James Danaher M Milwaukee Marquette
1990-91 Gary Grzesk D Wauwatosa East
1991-92 Scott Coufal GK Brookfield East
1992-93 Matt Geske M Brookfield Central
1993-94 Drew Watzka F Milwaukee Pius
1994-95 Andrew Kirk GK Milwaukee Marquette
1995-96 Andrew Kirk* GK Milwaukee Marquette
1996-97 Mike Sullivan D Brookfield Central
1997-98 Dominic DaPra F Racine St. Catherine's
1998-99 Nick Walls M Wauwatosa East
1999-2000 Cliff Ellsworth F Mequon Homestead
2000-01 Brett Wiesner F Brookfield East
2001-02 Eric Mickschl GK Glendale Nicolet
2002-03 David Peplinski M Milwaukee Marquette
2003-04 Nick Caronna M-F Brookfield Central
2004-05 Tyler Guse M Middleton
2005-06 Billy Von Rueden M Milwaukee Marquette
2006-07 Eric Meyer M Madison Memorial
2007-08 Stuart Grable F-M Neenah
2008-09 Robbie Boyd M Milwaukee Marquette
2009-10 David Caban M Kenosha Tremper
2010-11 Alex Megna M Milwaukee Marquette
2011-12 Patrick Hodan F Milwaukee Marquette
2012-13 Andrija Novakovich F Muskego
2013-14 Adam Pohlman M Neenah
2014-15 Peter Raymonds F Brookfield East
2015-16 Alec Philippe F Milwaukee Marquette

* – Named Gatorade National Player of the Year

  • The National Federation of State High School Associations announced two rules changes for prep soccer that will go into effect in the 2016-17 season, one concerning the offside rule and the other dealing with infractions by players attempting penalty kicks. "The rules are in fairly decent shape," said Theresia Wynns, NFHS director of sports and officials and liaison to the organization's Soccer Rules Committee. "The committee wasn’t looking to make wholesale changes. They were looking at existing rules and making sure they reflected today’s trends in the playing of the game." Under the current rules, which will continue to be used for this spring's girls season, an attacking player who is in an offside position at the time the ball is played by a teammate, can be penalized and ruled offside even if the ball comes off a defender who deliberately played it. That will no longer be the case starting next fall; the new NFHS rule will align with FIFA's Law 11 addressing the same situation. Also, any violation by a player attempting a penalty kick will be treated the same as one committed by any other member of the attacking team. The current rules call for the kick to be retaken if the kicker violates a rule, but the NFHS rules committee felt that all attacking team violations during a penalty kick should be treated equally. Read more about the changes


Team Previous coach New coach
Cambridge-Deerfield Tim Topel Megan Lee-Cunningham
Cedarburg Trent Berg Robert Williams
Freedom Josh Blau TBA
Green Bay East Brandon Erkkila Jenna Phelps
Green Bay Preble Chris Becker Adam Ropson
Greenfield Rob Blake Peter Knebel
Kaukauna Ken Bastian Tim Stuebs
Menasha Lance Gordon Andrew Stanton
New Berlin Eisenhower Erin Frantz Nick Datka
New Berlin West Adam Bell Matt Drago
Wausau West Brady Mesenberg Jordan Spaciel
Winneconne Luis Sayavedra Megan White


Team Previous coach New coach
Brookfield Central Jon Mroz Dan Makal
Germantown Todd Fisher Patrick Morris
Kettle Moraine Greg Prospero Andrew Kolokoski
Muskego Eric Hess TBA
Neenah Harry Kelderman Nate Werner

Do you know of other prep coaching changes for the 2016 season? Let us know at

Tag(s): Home  Prep Boys  Prep Girls  News  News