skip navigation

WSA Hall of Fame to welcome 10 newest members Saturday

04/26/2015, 8:15pm CDT
Wisconsin Soccer Association logo

The Wisconsin Soccer Association will induct a 10-member class into its Hall of Fame at a cermony next Saturday at American Serb Hall in Milwaukee.

The group's 33rd annual induction class features Rodrigo Diez (player), Ernie Englund (overall), Andrija Hampel (administrator), Mark Litton (player/coach), Jon Mroz (player/coach), Richard Rabiega (overall), Lee Rogers (player/coach), Cipriano "Tano" Sanchez, Jr. (overall), Slavko Stancevic (player/referee) and Greg Winkler (coach).

Here's a look at the Class of 2015:

Litton (Racine St. Catherine's/UW-Parkside) currently holds several coaching roles: He's an assistant for the U.S. Futsal national team, the national technical director for goalkeeper for U.S. Youth Futsal and an asistant in the UW-Milwaukee men's program. Litton was an NAIA All-American at Parkside and was inducted into the school's athletic Hall of Fame in 2010, also spent eight seasons as keeper coach at Parkside and held the same role with the Milwaukee Wave.

Mroz (Milwaukee Marquette/UW-Milwaukee) is the Brookfield Central High School boys coach and coaches at Bavarian SC. As a player, the goalkeeper won three WISAA state titles with the Hilltoppers and played professionally with the Wave in 1992-93 and with the Milwaukee Rampage in 1993. Mroz , a former UW-Milwaukee assistant, played in the WSA with the United Serbians from 1987 to '97.

Rogers was a defender for the Wave for eight seasons and was inducted into the team's Hall of Fame in 2011. He now heads up the boys and girls soccer programs at Brookfield Academy High School.

Winkler coached the Fond du Lac High School boys team from 1998 to 2014 and led the Cardinals' girls program from 2006 to '14, compiling a combined 403-170-47 record. Now the girls coach at George Jenkins High School in Lakeland, Fla., Winkler was named the national Youth Boys Coach of the Year by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America in 2012.

Diez and Rabiega are part of Polonia SC, with Rabiega now the club's president for adult soccer. Hampel is a longtime member of the Croatian Eagles; Englund is a member of the Wisconsin Youth Soccer Association state board and a coach and administrator for the Kenosha Area Soccer League; Sanchez founded the Aztec Warriors youth club on Milwaukee's South Side; and Stancevic played for the United Serbians and was one of the state's top referees over the past decade.

Additionally, the Stanley Stadler, Sr., Family will be honored with the Mike Kabanica Memorial Recognition Award, while Tony Fabiano, Guy McDonald and Pablo Garcia will receive Meritorious Awards from the WSA Hall of Fame.

WSA Hall of Fame members

Tag(s): Home  Amateur  News  WSL  Bavarian SC  Croatian Eagles  Polonia SC  United Serbians  Croatian Eagles