skip navigation

Amateur: Two tourneys, same days

11/21/2012, 11:12pm CST

The field for the 20th annual Madison United Presidents Cup might look little different look when it's played Feb. 16 and 17.

That's because many adult indoor teams are debating whether to play in the Presidents Cup or the Stefan's Cup, a new tournament being held the same weekend at the Brookfield Indoor Soccer Complex.

The entry fee for the Presidents Cup is $395, the same price as the 2012 event, and the field will be capped at 88 teams as it was this year.

In a slight change, play will begin at 8 a.m. Break Away Sports Center in Madison on Feb. 16, with the first matches at Keva Sports Center in Middleton scheduled for 8:30 a.m. – both are 30 minutes later than in 2011.  Winning teams at the Presidents Cup traditionally have received free entry into the next year's event.

The Stefan's Cup, meanwhile, is offering cash prizes for the winning teams in each of its four divisions, which are the same as the Presidents Cup: Men's Open, Women's Open, Men's Over-30 and Men's Over-38. The tournament website doesn't specify what those prizes will be. Registration for the Stefan's Cup is $450 if paid by Jan. 7, with a late registration fee of $475 available until Jan. 18.

As of Wednesday night, the Presidents Cup website showed 44 teams already registered for the tournament, including a full 16-team field in Men's Over-30 play.

For more information: Presidents Cup website | Stefan's Cup website

  • The Croatian Eagles will play in a new U.S. Adult Soccer Association tournament Memorial Day weekend in Greensboro, N.C. The event brings together this year's champions of the USASA National Open Cup (Croatians), the USASA National Amateur Cup (Massachuetts' Battery Park Gunners) and the National Premier Soccer League (Pennsylvania's FC Sonic), along with the host Carolina Dynamo – they were the USL Premier Development League runner-up in 2012, behind Canadian club Forest City London.
  • The USASA will hold its inaugural National Women's Championship from June 25 to 30 in Overland Park, Kan. The event will include Open, Amateur, Under-23 and Over-30 divisions.
  • The NPSL announced 11 expansion teams for the 2013 season, including two additions to the Midwest Conference. FC Sparta Michigan and Zanesville Athletic FC will play in the Great Lakes Division of the Midwest; the Madison 56ers, Milwaukee Bavarians and Eau Claire Aris FC play in the Central Division. The other new clubs are the Cape Coral Hurricanes (Fla.), Tampa Marauders FC, Miami United SC, New Orleans Jesters, RVA FC, Chesterfield United FC (Petersburg, Va.), Virginia FC, Rock City SC (Little Rock, Ark.) and the Las Vegas Stallions.

Recent Articles

Soccer ball
Soccer ball
Soccer ball
Soccer ball
Soccer ball

Tag(s): News