skip navigation

Prep boys: Marquette adds to history

10/28/2012, 1:38pm CDT

For the second straight year, Milwaukee Marquette and Kettle Moraine met for the WIAA Division 1 boys soccer state championship – the first time that's happened in any division during the tournament's 31-year history.

It was a far cry from last fall's lopsided final, as Kettle Moraine took the lead through Andy Chmielewski just 42 seconds into the match.

But the Hilltoppers rallied with goals from senior defender Mike Wabiszewski in the 32nd and senior midfielder Jacob Grindel in the 64th to post a 2-1 victory at Uihlein Soccer Park and win their third straight state title.

Marquette (23-1-2), which cruised to a 6-0 win in last year's final, outshot the Lasers (16-6-4) by a 26-6 margin but senior goalkeeper Kyle Ihn – a UW-Green Bay recruit – made 10 saves to keep the match tight.

The Hilltoppers are unbeaten in their past 45 matches against Wisconsin teams (43-0-2), dating to a 3-1 loss to Brookfield East on Sept. 28, 2010, and have outscored opponents 104-10 in 19 consecutive postseason victories since a 1-0 double-overtime loss to Hartland Arrowhead in a state quarterfinal on Oct. 29, 2009.

Marquette has qualified for the state tournament all 13 seasons since the school joined the WIAA in 2000 and has won a record nine state championships. The program has 24 state titles overall, having won 15 championships in the defunct Wisconsin Independent Schools Athletic Association, and has a 677-93-51 record in its 36-year history. The Hilltoppers have scored 2,741 goals all-time and allowed just 491 – that's an average score of 3.34 to 0.60.

  • Appleton Xavier (22-4-1) beat defending champion Mount Horeb 3-0 in the Division 2 final to win its fourth state title – tied for second in WIAA history along with Whitefish Bay and Racine Prairie School. The Hawks, who also won Division 2 titles in 2003, '04 and '06, had some record-setting performances on the weekend. Austin Weigman tied a tournament and division mark by scoring all four goals  – all in the second half – in Friday's 4-1 win over Green Bay Notre Dame in the semifinals. Fellow senior striker Jacob Hernandez set division records and tied tournament marks by recording three assists in the semifinal and four for the tournament. The Hawks closed the season on a 17-game winning streak.
  • With its 4-1 victory over Winnebago Lutheran in the Division 3 final, Milwaukee St. Anthony (26-3-1) became the 34th school to claim a WIAA boys soccer state title. Sophomore Juan Serna had two goals and an assist and senior Eduardo Guiterrezalso had a brace for the Roman Legion, who won their final 13 matches in the program's second season. Winnebago Lutheran lost in the state final for the second straight year and third time overall.
  • Private schools swept all three championships, continuing their dominance in the sport. In the 11 years there have been three divisions of play, private schools have won 25 of the 33 titles – public schools have won just one Division 3 championship and two Division 2 crowns in that span.
  • All three state finals will be shown on Fox Sports Wisconsin on tape delay. The Division 1 match is scheduled for 7 p.m. Wednesday, with the other two games to be shown back-to-back on Nov. 5 – the Division 3 match at 7 p.m., followed by the Division 2 game at 9 p.m. All 13 state matches eventually will be available online

Stat pack

Here are the final state leaders in goals, assists and points, based on statistics reported to Wisconsin Sports Network. Visit WSN for complete, sortable stats

48 – Jon Bucklew, jr., Somerset
40 – Andrija Novakovich, jr., Muskego
38 – Lucas Molski, sr., Stevens Point Pacelli
38 – Kortu Josiah, jr., Oostburg
37 – Jake Mullendore, sr., Amery
37 – Eric Miller, sr., New Richmond

28 – Jake Swihart jr. Oostburg
26 – Julio Martinez, sr., Beloit Memorial
25 – Audi Jepson, sr., Green Bay Preble
23 – Greg Borsari, sr., Milwaukee Pius
21 – Derek Ott, sr., Middleton
21 – Jacob Hernandez, sr., Appleton Xavier

114 – Jon Bucklew, jr., Somerset
91 – Andrija Novakovich, jr., Muskego
90 – Lucas Molski, sr., Stevens Point Pacelli
90 – Jake Mullendore, sr., Amery
86 – Michael Elbing, jr., Amery
86 – Robert Holschuh, sr., Milwaukee Pius

Recent Articles

Soccer ball
Soccer ball
Soccer ball
Soccer ball
Soccer ball

Tag(s): Prep Boys  News